All seven members of the Clifton Metropolis Council, together with longtime Mayor James Anzaldi, are operating for re-election in November.

13 candidates, together with six challengers, filed to run for four-year council phrases by Tuesday’s Four p.m. deadline, based on town clerk’s workplace.

In Clifton, the mayor is chosen from among the many council members, with historically the council member getting probably the most votes within the municipal election awarded the submit.

READ  third man charged in armed theft of Passaic membership admits guilt

Anzaldi was elected to the council in 1978 and have become mayor in 1990. He was the highest vote-getter within the 2014 election.

“I at all times say this: I am operating for a seat on the council. Regardless of the folks say is okay,” he mentioned.

READ  Fashionable succulents are being stolen from California parks and bought on the black market – The Denver Publish

The opposite council members submitting for re-elections are Peter T. Eagler, William F. Gibson, Raymond Grabowski, Steven Hatala Jr., Joseph B. Kolodziej and Lauren Murphy.

Steven Goldberg, Rosemary Pino, Frank C. Fusco, George Silva, Mary Sadrakula and Malvin Frias-Asencio are the six challengers.

Municipal elections in Clifton are non-partisan, that means that political events play no formal function.

READ  First week of spring brings hotter, common temperatures to metro space

Election Day is Nov. 6.

The mayor is paid $4,500 yearly, whereas the opposite council members obtain $4,000.

Clifton is the 10th-largest municipality in N.J. and residential to about 85,000, based on the American Neighborhood Survey.

Rob Jennings could also be reached at [email protected]. Observe him on Twitter @RobJenningsNJ. Discover NJ.com on Fb. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here